Not Sure About the “Quality” Foods

As per this post, I’m keen to make sure Pete eats reasonably quality, high protein food. Lots of people swear by the Royal Canin/Hill’s Science Plan type foods, so I thought I’d give them a go. They are eye-wateringly expensive compared to Tesco/Whiskas/Kitekat/Felix, and the nutritional information on the packs and on the websites is astonishingly poor.

I got him Royal Canin Feline Health Nutrition wet food, the Hairball Care and the Ultra Light in jelly (which states it has a 19% calorie reduction). The nutritional information for the Ultra Light says

COMPOSITION: meat and animal derivatives, vegetable protein extracts, derivatives of vegetable origin, minerals, cereals,various sugars.

ADDITIVES (per kg): Nutritional additives: Vitamin D3: 55 IU, E1 (Iron): 0.4 mg, E2 (Iodine): 0.1 mg, E4 (Copper): 0.9 mg, E5 (Manganese): 0.11 mg, E6 (Zinc): 1.1 mg, L-carnitine: 35 mg.

ANALYTICAL CONSTITUENTS: Protein: 11% – Fat content: 2% – Crude ash: 1.4% – Crude fibres: 1.2% – Moisture: 82.5%.

It doesn’t specify what the meat is, or what the vegetables and cereals are, and the protein content is very low, so I assume the carb content is high. They tag it as having a high protein content, but it’s only 11%. They say it has a 19% calorie reduction, but compared to what?

The Hairball Care variety gives the nutritional info as

COMPOSITION: meat and animal derivatives, cereals, vegetable protein extracts, derivatives of vegetable origin, minerals, oils and fats, various sugars, yeasts.

ADDITIVES (per kg): Nutritional additives: Vitamin D3: 82 IU, E1 (Iron): 3 mg, E2 (Iodine): 0.12 mg, E4 (Copper): 1 mg, E5 (Manganese): 1 mg, E6 (Zinc): 10 mg – Technological additives: Clinoptilolite of sedimentary origin: 0.4 g.

ANALYTICAL CONSTITUENTS: Protein: 7% – Fat content: 2.7% – Crude ash: 1.3% – Crude fiber: 1% – Moisture: 82%.

so it’s even lower in protein (cats are obligate carnivores, remember) and presumably even higher in carbs. Again, no calorie content.

I have emailed Royal Canin to ask for more info, so we will see what they say.

The Hill’s Science Plan I got is the urinary health & hairball control type, and again, there is very little nutritional info on the packaging. I can’t even find it on the website to look for more details, but looking at some of the other foods, they do have good nutritional information on the site.

It seems very strange to me that brands which a) cost a lot of money and b) promote themselves as being very high quality, aren’t prepared to back that up by being open about what goes into them. I’m looking at you, Royal Canin.

3 thoughts on “Not Sure About the “Quality” Foods

  1. My cat Hobi went from 5.25 kg to 4.9 kg ( he’s a long tall cat) in two weeks . I cut out biscuits ! He wasn’t used to them
    Being a rescue stray and they were making him fat very fast! I found Sainsburys own to be high meat content and Lily’s kitchen and hi life – but the latter are expensive. As a skinny almost feral rescue it was Sainsbury own super meat that bulked him up and while he is not so keen now ( as I have introduced him to others!)!he will still eat it and no biscuits seem to be preferable to him as hevseems happier and not just filling up on biscuits and he’s getting used to smaller meals. As an ex vet nurse I have always been wary of crunches and they used to cause serious health issues like urinary calculus etc . Today there are so many cat foods that are so high in carbs – it’s a racket. And only gave him them as vet said they dont cause problems any more!! But I think they do. Thinking to get minced chicken to add in and boost the nutrients but I just think for humans crunchies are easy but for cats they are not good at all.

    Like

  2. I cut out biscuits for Sky – she was topping the scales at 7.2kg at one stage which is obviously way to big. She is now 4.9kg and still needs to lose a little more. As an indoor cat I knew she was only eating what I gave her. Cut the biscuits completely which was hard for her, especially overnight when I used to leave them down for her and Robbie. I was obviously fooling myself though that she didn’t each much – I have another cat who gets biscuits overnight (out of Sky’s reach) and they are rarely eaten up. The biscuits I ordered have lasted 6 months….it used to be 3 months at the most. She is currently loving the Wellness food from Pets At Home but it is expensive!

    Like

Leave a Reply

