I hope he’s ok during the day

The first two days I had Pete, I was on annual leave from work and by the end of the second day I was confident he was settled enough that I had no need to worry about him while I’m at work. I’ve continued to believe that for the last two weeks. As I start to unlock the door, I can usually hear him jump to the floor and run to meet me. He waits by the door for me to come in, lets me rub his head, and then he does that big stretch cats do when they’ve just woken up from a long sleep. So I’ve assumed he’s quite happy during the day.

But I saw my neighbour yesterday and she says she heard him crying on Monday. It was about lunchtime, and he was sitting behind the front door and meowing very loudly, and for quite a while. So now I’m worried that he does that every day.

It’s only another week till he gets his second lot of jags. I’m hoping that once he can come in and out freely, that might keep him a bit happier during the day. I hate to think of him crying alone all day every day. 😥

