Catit Design Cabrio Cat Carrier

I mentioned the Catit Design Cabrio Cat Carrier in my last post, and then it occurred to me it might be worth doing a series of product reviews, as and when I have products to review.

So, the Catit Design Cabrio Cat Carrier. I decided to go for this one because the product reviews on Amazon were generally excellent, and the ones I looked at on Pets at Home generally had poor reviews. It was on sale when I bought it and I paid £26.90.

Good points

  • It’s a pretty big plastic carrier, easily big enough for my 5.8kg furry friend.
  • The main part of the floor is raised, so it has sunken channels at the sides, to allow for pee and vomit to run off if the cat gets upset while in it.
  • It allows for front and top-loading – top-loading being much easier than trying to get a reluctant cat in through a small door

Bad points

  • it’s self-assembly
  • the self-assembly is really awkward. My flat is furnished almost entirely with Ikea furniture, so I’m not a self-assembly novice. The instructions are diagrammatical rather than written, and the diagrams are too small and too cluttered to be clear or easily understandable.
  • The base is sturdy, but the two sides which fold out to allow for top-loading are made of a thin plastic which is too flexible and therefore wobbly. They are difficult to position correctly, and the instructions don’t make it clear that you should fit the hinge covers as soon as you’ve fitted the sides, or else they’ll fall off as soon as you touch them.
  • The instructions about which way up to fit the hinge covers could be clearer
  • the two top halves don’t align automatically – they have some awkward pegs/pins/struts and grooves which have to be correctly fitted to each other, and they are very fiddly. When I was testing this carrier with Pete, it was very easy for him to jump straight out while I was trying to get the two halves aligned and clipped together
  • the front door comes in two parts – a frame which fits to the main carrier, and the actual door which fits into the frame. It’s really awkward to fit the frame onto the carrier as it has to be done very precisely; it’s a two-person job really. I don’t have particularly weak arms and really struggled to push the frame in far enough until it clicked into place. And then I watched as the plastic expanded and the bottom corner of the frame detached itself. So I tapped it in lightly with a mallet (well, a claw hammer with the impact spread out via Stephen King’s Mr Mercedes) and it seemed to be in securely. The door fitted very easily into the frame, but as soon as I managed to get the reluctant Pete into it and lifted it, the frame came away again
  • Yes, that’s right. As soon as I lifted the carrier with the cat in it, the door frame came off.

So, I think it’s pretty useless, and it’s going back.

My next review will probably be the Andrew James New Automatic Pet Feeder. Fingers crossed that’s better.

